An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is the right of the patient to get a proper diagnosis and treatment for the illness he is going through. So, the patient should be able to analyze the competency of the doctor before taking treatment from doctor. In my opinion, I agree with prompt for two reasons.

Trusting the doctor is very important before getting treatment. The patient should have some level of credence on the skill of doctor, so that the patient is mentally prepared for the treatment. If, the patient is mentally unprepared, the treatment may not work on him. For instance, a patient is suffering from nearsightedness and he wants to undergo a surgery to correct his vision. The patient in this case should have some faithfulness in doctor that, the doctor will not damage his eyes altogether, instead he will correct the vision as required. If, the patient is terrified throughout the operation, his fear can results in some undesirable results. So, in this scenario, if the patient can see the previous vision correction operations that the doctor has performed and the success rates in those operations helps the patient to get faith in the doctor. This example clearly indicates why patient should have rights to see doctor's records.

The patient should have a chance to check the genuineness of the doctor. There are many examples in which people getting treatment from fake doctors and loosing their money and worsening their health conditions. Some fake doctors may lure patients with their brilliant marketing tricks such as less money and counterfeit surgeries they performed on imaginary patients over the time. So, it should be easy for a patient to get records of doctor's earlier treatment records. For instance, there is a fake doctor in a big city whose main targets are patients fro nearby underdeveloped areas. This clearly shows the importance of records should be accessible

However, some people may argue that, the accession of previous treatment records is a violation of privacy rights of other patients. It is the duty of the doctor to keep the treatment records confidential. But it is not true, it is possible for the doctors to provide earlier treatment records in a limited manner so that the privacy is not violated. Hence, it is very much necessary for a patient to know about the earlier treatments given by the doctor he is visiting.