The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from television manager states that there has been a lot of complaints regarding the coverage of local and weather news and the station has lost some advertisers. The reasons for this, as stated by the manager is, less time devoted to local news and weather reports in their news programs. So, to lure more viewers and to avoid further losing of sponsors the manager suggests to increase the coverage for local and weather news in all news programs. The argument seems valid at cursory glance, however, a deeper analysis of the argument and the facts provided to support the argument seem unwarranted and need further scrutiny.

Author should provide evidence to prove that, the television station has been devoting a lot of time for local and weather news since many years except for the last year. This information helps to support the assumption made by the author that, the channel had devoted less time local and weather news only in the past year and because of this complaints have increased. What if the channel has always devoted less time to local news and weather news compared to other news and this years the coverage has become so less that, viewers started complaining? This this scenario proves the author's assumption wrong.

The main fact that attracts advertisers is the viewership of a program. If more people watch a program, the advertisers tend to give preference to that program over other programs which have less viewership. For instance, the late night program broadcast by the television station is of pathetic quality and has failed to gain viewership. In such scenario it is evident that the advertisers prefer late night programs in other stations, which have more viewership compared to this program. Also, there could be many other reasons why a program is getting less advertisers along with the viewership criterion. What if the business is moving to another area and there is no use by advertising in this area? What if the business has started making good profit and they stop advertising? So, author should provide evidence that overcomes all these possibilities and proves that the coverage of local news is the only reason for cancelling of advertisements.

The author should provide evidence to prove that after increasing the coverage for local and weather news, the station will attract more viewers and advertisers for sure. What if the news is telecast in working hours in which people prefer to work rather than watch news? What if the content of news fails to attract viewers even if the news is telecast at popular time? These possibilities reduce the chances of success of the author's suggestion.

To conclude, the author fails to present a cogent argument in front of the audience. If, the author had provided some substantive evidence to back up the information stated(data collected by survey of viewers and the information about advertisers), the argument would have become more tenable. So, the television station authority should do thorough research to find out reason behind decreasing number of viewers and advertisers before implementing the solution proposed by the manager.