The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum, the business manager’s suggestion is to increase the coverage of local news and weather news in all news programs in order to lure more viewers and advertisers. The manager backs up his suggestion by mentioning that the channel received many complaints regarding the less coverage of local and weather news and some of advertising contracts have been canceled for the same reason. At first the the argument seems valid, however, a detailed analysis of the argument and the provided evidence reveals some unwarranted assumptions made by author, which can be proved wrong later.

First assumption, which author makes is the complaints from viewers - regarding coverage of local news - were about only the program that is broadcasted at late night. But, the author suggests to increase the broadcast of local news in all news programs instead of late night news program, so both assumption and suggestion seem highly disconnected. Moreover author does not mention about the reason of complaints from previous years. It could be possible that, the channel has always devoted equal time to national news and local news and only in last year, it has increased time for national news by a small amount say about 10 minutes in late night program. This possibility weakens the author’s argument

Second assumption, which author makes is , the reason for cancellation of advertisement contracts from local business is due to reduced amount of local news. However this may not be true, there might be other reasons for cancelling of advertisements as more viewership for a program calls for more advertisements. For example, if the quality of late night programs is not good enough to attract people, they may prefer not to watch it or go for some other channels, thus, reducing the number of viewers. It is also possible that, the area where the television station is prevalent, people in that area may tend to sleep early or engage in some other activities instead of watching television at night. This might be a reason for reduced number of viewers at night and leading to cancellation of advertisements.

Third assumption which author makes is, all of the viewers of the channel are interested in local and weather news and no evidence is provided to prove that this assumption is correct. If, the viewers of the channel prefer to watch programs other than news like- reality shows, sports and movies - the author’s argument does not hold water. Moreover, author assumes that, increasing the time for local news will definitely attract more viewers despite of the quality of program or the time at which the program is broadcasted. If, the broadcasted program has pathetic quality content or the if the timings are odd like during the working hours in which most of the people will be working, increasing the coverage of local and weather news does not make any difference in the number of viewers.

To conclude, because of the aforementioned reasons, the author fails to present a cogent argument in front of audience. The author’s argument would have made more sense, if, he had presented some substantive evidence like - tendency of people to watch more news programs over others, actual reason for cancellation of ads - to bolster his assumptions. Without such data it is very difficult to establish the validity of argument. Thus, the television channel must be cautious before taking any decisions based on manager’s suggestion.