An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

It is critically important that there is a trust relationship between the patient and doctor. Personally, I believe that patients should not be given access to doctor's records of treating similarly affected patients. I feel this way for these reasons which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, doctors are already competent to treat the medical condition because they have earned the MBBS/MD degree. They have proved their competency in the past 5 or 7 years and that's why they have the degree so I feel that just by seeing how they have treated the previous cases we shouldn't judge them. For instance, if a skin specialist has treated a patient and as recommended to take some medications. If the patient has not taken the medications properly at on right time and has followed some other medications then the patient might document that the prescribed medication from the doctor didn't show any difference and in fact, it has worsened the situation. As a result, it would be documented that the mistake was done by the doctor and any patient with similar symptoms might not trust the doctor. In addition, this documentation does not tell the competency of the doctor. Accordingly, I think the doctor's record access should not be given to the patient.

Second of all, If it is true that the patients were given access to the record then this might weaken the trust relationship between the doctor and the patient. We all know that how important doctors were during the covid situation. It is important for us to believe in them so that they can treat us in the same way. For instance, if I trust my doctor and provide him all the details then he will be able to suggest medication accordingly.

On the other hand, if a patient is given access to the records then this can increase the confidence of the patient. For example, when my Grandfather was diagnosed with cancer. We were in search of a good doctor who can handle it smoothly. We searched for a lot of doctors on google and checked their previous success stories so with this we were confident that this particular doctor would treat cancer effectively. In addition, when we met him he was able to properly identify the symptoms and treated cancer effectively. Consequently, My grandfather got liberty from cancer.

On a conclusive note, I believe that records should be shared with the patients only for the complicated cases, and for the simple cases, it shouldn't be shared because patients might not provide the information scientifically and it can weaken the trust relationship between the patient and doctor.