All the parents should require to volunteer time at their children’s school

Write a response in which you can discuss the extent to which you agree and disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would and would not be advantageous and explain how these example shape your opinion

A parent’s involvement in child’s initial years can be a great boost for their growth as well as forming a loving atmosphere for children. Here the topic suggests that parents should volunteer their time at their children’s school. Personally, I completely agree with the parent’s involvement at school, but the compulsion for the parent (“should”) is a little problematic in my opinion. Undisputedly, parent’s time at school can create a good environment for the child’s development, but we cannot neglect the part that some parents may be in jobs that could not allow them to spare the time for this activity. Thus, meanwhile while I agree with initial part of the approach, I do not fully agree with the “all or nothing” impression that it gives.

Firstly, the biggest consideration in the case may be the familiarity of a parent’s face especially for a young child when it’s their first time away from home. Along with it, this might also help the parents engage with the teacher to deeply understand the progeny. They can have a closer look into the child’s psyche and well as give them an understanding of how the child behaves differently when meeting new people. This in turn can help in early detection of major mental health illnesses like ADHD, anxiety etc. Parent’s being present can also help coy and introverted kids to gel with the classmates and make some friends along the way. On a side note, the increased time spend can also nurture the bond between the child and the parent. Continuing on, the parents and teachers and also spend some time to understand the needs of specific children and develop a course of action to best help child fare better in life.

Parents can be involved in a variety of tasks in and around the school, helping out the teachers and faculty easy out the process for the children. From a personal story, in our school, parents were usually called into help with tasks like make-up or chair duty during fests and annual days. This helped create a great camaraderie among the classmates and our class almost felt like one huge family. Furthermore, reports suggest that when parents usually volunteer at children’s school, the chances of bullying or extreme actions being taken by/against children can reduce significantly. This can help the school and parents guarantee that the children study in the most safe and accepting environment possible.

Even though most of the statement has many positive aspects to make you consider it, but that can be done only if we are aware of the shortcomings of the “all or nothing” tone of the statement. There can be cases where parents have jobs where they can’t take frequent day offs in order to volunteer with the school work. If this is forced upon them, it can cause them to work night shifts, extra days or even get fired from their jobs. Instead of helping the morale of the child, this can go onto affect the bond, finances, and mental health of the whole family. Along with this there ought to be some parameter to check the seriousness of the task being given to the parents. For example, tasks like helping the faculty with the work sheets, helping out the school play etc are easy and bond creating tasks and should be distributed to the interested parents, but if they are put them into helping in labs(with hazardous chemicals) or the admin department where attention to detail is of utmost importance then the chances of things not working out can increase a lot. In such cases having expert staff can be safer, better, and a more economical option for the school.

In conclusion, having parents around at school can be of great help to the children as well as the faculty as they can form a tripartisan bond for the best care for the children, but a closer look and consideration has to be taken while selecting the parents and the complexity of tasks assigned to them.