All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In order to stay tow to tow with competition, companies need to be operate efficiently. This can only be done if the company is aware of the latest market trends and latest development in the field that they are operating in and also eliminating internal problems that are holding back companies to operate efficiently. The best way to get to know about these trends is to rely on their own employees competence rather than outside consultants due to two main reasons.

Firstly, in most cases companies makes sure that they hire best candidates in their organisation, they make sure that the employee is adept and are passionate about the company before hiring them. These employees work regularly for the company and knows in's and out how the company works and what department needs improvement for the company to work faster and more efficiently.This will also help company save money which can be utilised for companies self development. The employees keep up to date of the market trends for their own careers and using that knowledge for the good use of company can help them operate more efficiently moving forward. For example, an employee of a IT technology company will keep a track on the latest technological market trends to stay relevant in his job, also he would know how the company is compatible to those market change, hence, utilising that information for future decisions of the company will benefit the company more than outside consultants who barely know how the company works.

Secondly, as the employees get paid by the company, they want their company to grow and make more money, so that they can make more money. Hence, companies who listen to their own employees are bound to get much more reiliable and trustworthy advice regarding companies policies and work culture and advancements. Especially older and much more experienced employees that have been with the company for years. Whereas, outside consultants cannot be trusted to give you reliable information as they can might give you popular suggestions that they give to other companies, but those decision might not work for all.

In contrary, there can be some cases where workforce of a company is not much experienced and the company is itself a samll company or a start up. Such companies should take outside consultants as they will have much more experience and knowledge of current market trends and how to build a company up by creating a proper base.

In conclusion, relying on companies workforce is much better way for a company to operate more efficiently than hiring outside consultants because the employees knows what is best for the company and their suggestions are much more reliable than outside consultants.