All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim that rather than hiring outside consultants to suggest ways for a company to operate efficiently companies should spend more time listening to their employees is sound to a extent. Be it a small scaled or a large scale company, everyone has a desire to operate more efficiently than they have ever been. Too often, companies hire outside consultants and assign them the task of doing so.

A outsider to the company can provide a dispassionate view about the company and its entities. He/She has to perform his task of increasing the efficacy of a company and he can do so without a partial or biased view.

Morever the outsider is also well-versed in the field of consulting, which is why the company may have approached him. So he can perform better at the task of consulting ways for growth of a company compared to what the employees of a company who are novice in the field could do. The consultant is well-equipped with all the methodologies which could be taken in practice leading to higher efficiency of a company. So he can solve problems which might be abstruse for a general employee.

Also, a consultant is a third-party viewer of the company. Many a times we oversimplify the scenarios our company might be facing, Or we might not be able to catch certain faults with out system. A consultant can scrutinize the matter at hand deeply in-order to unearth all such anomalies that might be existing.

However, a consultant can view only as much as the company wishes him to see. The company can have many details which are obscured from the view of consultant. The employees within the company can provide a better knowledge about those things, The employees know the situation at company better than a consultant in some cases. Like say, the working culture, reason behind employees leaving the company, etc. An employee of the company might provide better insights into these matters through their experience in the company.

An employee of a company can view the shortcomings more closely. They can answer questions such as what needs to be improved to attract more clients, or to maintain existing ones, how can they improve the customer satisfaction, what changes can be made in the work environment etc.

Though an employee might be helpful with all those above mentioned questions but the question as to how would the identified changes by the employee be implemented in the company still remains. For the employee will only provide you with insights to problems existing but not necessarily the solutions to deal with them.

Hence we can say, the reliance of companies on outside consultants have some shortcomings and the opinions of employee provide a valid point in many cases. But the efficiency of a company cannot be solely improved by spending more time listening to the employees solely. The best result could possibly be achieved by both entities, A consultant and an employee working together in increasing the efficiency of the company.