All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

All too often, companies cannot compete with the growing trends of industry and office culture and begin to fail in terms of production as well as productivity of the employees. In such cases, it is often the best strategy to hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently.

An outside consultant that is hired to help any company first assesses the company, its requirements, its culture as well as the market the company is operating in. These consultants can provide suggestions over various fields which can include method of management to streamlining production. The consultants are experienced people who know how the industry works. Most importantly, since these consultants do not belong to the company, they can provide an unbiased view of the problems they notice. They are not favourable to anyone. They might be able to notice problems that usually go unseen by a manager or even the employees. For example, since an external consultant will not be afraid of the hierarchy in a company, can probably suggest a few changes in the manager's working.

Moreover, these consultants are experienced in dealing with similar companies belonging to the same industry. So they might be able to suggest solutions for one's company on the basis of problems they have seen in other companies. If a few changes worked for another company in the same industry, chances of them working for one's company increases. Not only this, it also increases the faith we have in the process of consultation since, this can prove as an index through which hiring decisions for consultants can be made. These consultants become accountable for their work based on the results they produce. Sometimes, a company's operations could be declining even if the employees of the company are satisfied and do not have any complaints. Hiring an external consultant in these situations proves to be beneficial. For example, there exists a company whose work timings are random and every employee can choose to report to work as per their wish. No employee would have a complaint against this but this would harm the working of the company severely since it would lead to difficulty in managing meetings or discussions, and also collaborative work amongst the employees. A consultant, being an external member and unbiased, would not hesitate to point this anomaly out.

However, it is certainly true that one of the most important ways of improving a company's operations is listening to what the employees have to say. Sometimes managers or leaders of the company do not pay heed to the employee grievances which eventually make it difficult for the company to function properly. With the complaints of employees resolved, the members shall want to put in more effort towards the company, leading to better productivity or operations.

Paying attention to a company's employees is an essential part of improving the company's management and operations but more than often, it really helps when companies follow suggestions from external consultants to improve their operations.