Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Today's young generations will make up the leaders of tomorrow. We need to educate the young ones in such a way that it instills in them a sense of leadership from the beginning stages of their lives. It is certainly true that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, and not competition.

Whenever a good leadership is analyzed, important factors that are considered include the achievements of the leader and the satisfaction of the people he or she is responsible for leading. In many fields of life, leadership is considered analogous to cooperation. Teamwork is said to be one of the most defining qualities of a good leader and teamwork comes through cooperation.

One of the most important characteristics of a good leader is how well respected he or she is by his or her own team. This respect can be earned through teamwork and inclusion of the team members, members at the same level as the leader, as well as people in ranks below the leader. Whenever people see their leader consulting them for decisions, it makes them feel like they belong to the team and this instills in them a stronger support towards the leader. A leader is not only supposed to achieve his promises, but also supposed to keep his or her team content while trying to do so. Cooperation makes it easier to work with people and more often, gives better results than cases where we would be competing with someone else. As a leader, keeping our subjects happy must be our primary objective. If we are constantly competing with other people, this could hinder our path of achieving the objective because sometimes we lose the opportunities to work with others to achieve bigger goals, only because we might view them as competitors. Cooperation with everyone in such a case becomes really helpful.

For example, most of the scientists in their respective domains dream of making a breakthrough discovery and winning an appreciation award for it. More often, what motivates them is the race to win that medal or award. They miss out on opportunities where they can collaborate with the brightest of minds because they see their fellow scientists as competitors and not their peers. As a student in school, we must be taught that cooperation between people to achieve something is more important than competing with them and trying to beat others. Another example would be a political party trying to make changes in a society to improve the living standards. Even though their intentions might be generous, at times, these political parties become so engrossed in trying to prove that they are better than their competitors that they lose focus of their objective and end up only trying to compete.

However, it is certain that healthy competition proves to be a constant motivation for leaders to try and improve themselves. With competition around, people are aware that they might lose their position and power because their subjects have their competitors as better alternatives. This keeps them motivated to work better and also adds a sense of accountability because they fear being replaced.

Even though a healthy competition often acts as a motivator in certain cases, cooperation with their own competitors, peers and subjects is an important characteristic of what makes a true good leader capable of leading and influencing people, and capable of bringing about a change.