The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A nation, be it modern or in the ancient times of monarchy and empires, is mainly attributed to how happy the people of that nation are. A happy nation is a growing nation. The surest indicator of a great nation is therefore represented by the general welfare of the people.

It is not uncommon to see that nations with political turmoil or economic crisis resulting in general unhappiness within the people of the nation, results in slow growth of the nation. With people busy dealing with widespread issues like corruption or maybe unemployment, they tend to spend lesser focus on their personal as well as societal development. The country thus fails to focus more on its growth. Hence, a nation in which people are not looked after does not progress. People are what make up a nation and their good welfare becomes the most important aspect of greatness.

For example, the Mughal Empire in India was known to be one of the most prosperous empires of ancient times. This was mainly because the subjects of the empire were content and happy with the life their emperor had provided them with, and looked up to him. This encouraged the people to work harder at their jobs and the economy of the empires kept flourishing. This even promoted the growth of art and culture amongst people. In today’s example, China, under a communist government has proven to show the steadiest growth in the last few years. From a country suffering from acute economic crisis in the last decade to becoming one of the leading countries on the international level today, China has achieved this by adopting the policy of focusing on the welfare of its people first by providing them with employment and equal opportunities. On the contrary, countries like Venezuela have been so caught up with their political movements that their economy has been declining over the years consistently.

Agreeably, it is the success of various rulers, artists or scientists that put a nation into the limelight at an international level. A nation is also known for its world class leaders or its art and poetry or the inventions made by the people that have contributed to the growth of science all around the world. However, it fails to be a sure indicator of a great nation. These illustrious people make up a small fraction of the general population.

Thus, while famous and successful rulers, artists and scientists do bring a lot of fame and respect towards a nation, it is the general people that form a nation. Their welfare and happiness continue to be the strongest indicator of a nation’s growth and greatness.