All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Employees form the essence of the company they are a part of. They know its everyday functioning from a first hand perspective. Most of the time in an employee's day is spent at their working place. It becomes their second home and all of their actions are in the best interest of the company. The prompt recommends that instead of hiring outside consultants to improve the efficiency of a company, they should take feedback and listen to their own employees. I moderately agree with this suggestion for the following reasons and argue that companies should first pay heed to what their employees have to say.

To begin, a company is nothing without its employees. It is formed by the small contributions of all of its employees. Hence, employees form the heart of the company and it's success largely depends on the people they've hired. From an employee's perspective, the place where they work becomes their second home as they spend almost 40 hours a week there. The major source of income comes from this place and hence employees are dependent on their company for everything. Therefore, it is obvious that employees will always have the company's best interests at heart because in a way they are also getting affected. For instance, if the company falls in a huge debt, the employees would be affected the most as many of them will be needed to resign and some might even get cuts from their salaries. And no one would want that to happen to themselves. Hence, employee's actions are mostly for the betterment of the company.

Secondly, after working at a place for 8 hours a day, everyday, you get to know the company inside out. It's functioning becomes more and more lucid to its employees and hence they have a first hand perspective about the working of the company. Moreover, all the employees have a different mindset and have different perspectives on any issue the company's facing. Therefore, the company should organize a few sessions or meetings and spend some time listening to what their employees have to say. Sometimes, consideration of an opposing view is also necessary to make the right choice. Hence, it is necessary that the employees views are taken into account for the welfare of the company.

Of course, some argue that consultants are the people who have good experience in this work and might have better suggestions to improve the efficiency of a firm. I agree that they are masters of their own work and are more acquainted with the rules and regulations on which a company works. They also have a set of protocols on which they work and might even have a set of predefined steps following which a company can improve their working substantially. But it's also true that the same solution does not really work for each company or in each scenario. Hence, it's better if a company, alongwith taking suggestions from outside consultants, pays more attention to its own employees and only after that make a decision. It cannot be denied that the employees will work for the betterment of their company.