all too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

Companies hiring outside consultants to get their help for effective and smooth operation is a common culture since the last few years. The primary role of consultants is to consult the company or organization in a way that leads to its development. We might think that this can be excluded or the consultants would be unnecessary, if the companies listen to their own employees by making time for them. This may seem like a simple issue but it's more than that.

Consultants are trained professionals with necessary qualifications to understand the situation in the perspective of both company and its employees. They provide suggestions and insights from their knowledge and experience, which normal people may not achieve. Companies with large employee pool would hire outside consultants rather than spending much time and effort themselves while listening to their employees.

In my opinion, hiring consultants is much more effective in the long run compared to make the effort themselves. This situation is credible and valid for MNCs or larger corporations. The situation may not be similar for startups or companies with small employee pool. They have the option of listening to their employees rather than hiring outside consultants.

I disagree to the statement that consultants would be unnecessary, if the companies spend time to listen to their own employees. Even if they did, the inputs which are provided by the consultants are definitely valuable.