All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Generally, companies tend to hire outside consultants to find innovative and more efficient ways to improve their activities for the simple reason that those people are professionals in the sector; thus, those consultants have the expertese and the skills to find the best possible solution on a certain matter.

While it is true that such expertese might be quite expensive for the compnay budget, also considering that by exploiting internal workforce in order to tackle problems efficiency, instead, would be at cost almost zero; it is also the case that well known consultants with important historical records, tend to bring a considerable advantage to companies'operations.

Meanwhile, internal employees might also be biased. In fact, considering an employee who has been working for several years whithin a certain corporation, she would certainly have acquired a methodology and a certain way of tackling problems typical of that oorganisation, and probably also quite commond among other employees. Therefore, it seems quite demanding for this employee to bring innovatinve ideas regarding how to improve operational efficiency when she has always been doing things in a certain way.

As a matter of fact, this is a common problem among corporations and often, this pushes managers to opt hiring external consultants that are able to face issues and critical situations at a macro level.

Additionally, facing complexities as outsiders could reslt extremely beneficial in finding the critical points or the bottle necks that hinder a proper internal effciency and the development of the business.

Besides, defining such expertese as "unnecessay" is probably eccesively extreme. If it is true that listening to internal employees and receiving fresh and sincere feedbacks from those actually involved in every-days dynamics could result succesfully benefical in improving operational effciency, still some external opinions and considerations from experts should always be wellcome; especially keeping in mind that such experts could potentially be the best in the sectors and hence, have probably much more knowledge than any other employee.

In conclusion, while it is certainly fundamental to listen to internal employees who are faicing everyday internal inefficiencies, consultants advice is probably one of the most effective tool to bring the organisaiton to the next level.