All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt is accurate when it states, "All too often companies hire outside consultants." Counter to what the prompt states, this practice actually slows efficiency. Determing the appropriate consulting agency takes time and effort, which is time-consuming. In addition, it is unclear whether the companies can afford consultants, so after finding the right consulting agency, a company may find itself unable to bear the cost of starting a project. Finally, while it may be said that the consultants are worth the time, effort, and costs, many can easily counterargue that internal consultants will do just as adequate a job. As it stands, a company can operate more efficiently by avoiding outside consultants.

Identifying the right consulting agency can take as much time as the consulting process itself, ironically, thereby making the project redundant. Perhaps a company wants to bring in a consulting agency for a few weeks to improve its distribution of soap in the US' Northeastern market Knowing the right consulting agency, contacting the right consultants, describing your company's needs to the consulting agency--the process distracts the executive suite. Does the executive suite want to deal with such distractions? By the time the project begins, they will ask themselves, "Is this project really worth it? Can we do exactly what the consultants are doing ourselves?" The project's inefficiency ironically causes the company to operate less efficiency.

Hiring outside consultants additionally requires outlandish costs, and the leaders making those decisions have little idea of whether the outcome will be effective. In one instance, a company may hire a few McKinsey management consultants or Deloitte accounting consultants to better streamline its supply chain or improve the accounting process. However, the overall costs may come out to hundreds of thousands of dollars, simply for having a few weeks of advising The executive suite may ask themselves, "Was it really worth it? Could we have done exactly what the consultants did ourselves?" The costs do not always outweigh the benefits, and that becomes apparently clear after the fact.

Having internal consultants only further proves the claim that external consultants are redundant. These consultants are employed within and remain with the company indefinitely. They identify issues on a constant basis and are already well-aware of the issues holding the company back. That means that the executive suite does not need to waste time explaining the issues to them; they already know what the issues are. In addition, there are no additional costs; the internal consultants are omnipresent.

Although companies will continue to hire outside consultants, it is easy to transition to internal consultants. Operations researchers, organizational scientists, industrial-organizational psychologists--companies are constantly adding these positions to their research and development departments. Companies can easily streamline them into their companies and operations. In addition, these employees can "listen to their own employees," as the prompt says, as they are well-practiced in such. Adding these roles is a great step forward and a much better plan. It is more efficient for companies to have inside consultants do the consulting in place of outside consultants. Companies will be pleased with the result.