The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Clearview has made the point that retirees should choose their municipality for retirement. However, their argument is laden with fallacies. The argument mentions its consistent climate, housing costs, and number of physicians—all of which make for a “top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire.” No relevant, subsequent information is given to strengthen the conclusion. The evidence would be severely weakened if these so-called reasons are not accurately portrayed.

Clearview first states that the climate is consistent. However, a “consistent” climate is a vague term. Does Clearview mean that the climate is consistent relative to itself? If that is the case, then the climate should follow its own regular patterns. That said, a climate consistent with basic trademarks like “warm” and “comfortable” may not indicate that the climate is consistent at all. The climate may be warm but rains every few days, or the climate is comfortable but is not warm enough. A climate consistent according to these trademarks rather than regular patterns would weaken the argument because retirees would not want to live where climate is inaccurately portrayed.

Second, Clearview mentions its decreasing housing costs. This is a fanciful claim, but decreasing costs, in any industry, are only useful as they are relative to other business; in this case, that would be neighboring communities. First, the housing costs may be exorbitant relative to Clearmont, the town next door. In addition, Clearview’s housing costs may not have proportionally decreased as much so as Clearmont, again confusing and deceiving potential retirees. These retirees would not want to live in a town where they cannot afford the housing costs and are being duped. This would weaken the argument and again obfuscate the statement that the top choice is Clearview.

Finally, Clearview mentions the number of physicians as an advantage for living there. While it is nice to know the number of physicians in any given town, it is more important to know what kind of physicians they are. In other words, what is the diversity? Are they solely pediatricians? Are there therapists, neurologists, orthopedists, oncologists? The numbers must represent your needs, as there is not point of living in a town where there a lot of pediatricians, and you are a retiree. Based on this information, the the argument would be weakened.

It seems that Clearview is trying to confuse its potential customers by feigning its quality. Although it has pointed out its climate, housing costs, and number of physicians, it has not given an accurate depiction of any. We truthfully do not know whether the climate is consistent, the housing costs have decreased, and the number of physicians meets retirees needs. All of this information weakens the overall argument and concludes that Clearview should more accurately portray itself if it wants to attract retirees.