People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement elucidates how difficult making decisions without some sort of dissonance is: "Did I make the right one? Will I regret it later? How much more time could I have spent on it?" These are all expected thoughts, hence the motivation to make a decision based on emotion. Examples include being stuck at an impasse or starting a new lifestyle, as these are all life choices so gut-wrenching that it is easier to go by "what your heart tells you." While it makes sense that these people are not effectively poor decision makers, there are cases when making decisions by emotion indicate poor decision-making, regardless of how much logic you justify it with.

When changing lifestyles, it is easier to make a decision based on emotion. Frightened by how much thought, time, and effort you have spent, you would simply leave your job and search for a new one. And having children at a late age (or even adopting)? Having anxiety over such a decision is not surprising. Even moving to a different country -- such a decision is one that can give anyone an endless amount of anxiety. For a person in such a position, it is easier to make the decision and justify their behavior by saying, "It was easier." If anything, this does not make them poor decision-makers; this behavior makes them rational, self-confident, and introspective individuals who know the psychological stress of making a decision so large.

Additionally, consider when stuck at an impasse. It is much easier to make a decision based on emotion. Perhaps you are a member of a foreign policy committee. You have an enormous burden, and while you knew that stress was impending, you did not know the extent of it. You are afraid to tell other members for fear of ostracization. You also know that your logic holds true, but there are so many counterfactual events that indicate "sanctioning Country X is the worse of two evils." Hence, you choose based on emotion. You have become psychologically entrapped by your predilection. In other words, you choose because you preferred a certain decision from the getgo. Granted, you should deciding based on cognitive biases, but psychological entrapment is not something easily avoidable. Similar to the person making a lifestyle change decision, this person is not a poor-decision maker; they simply are affected by psychological phenomena.

However, there are cases where decisions based on emotion cannot be justified by logic: alcoholics. Because of their inebriation, an alcoholic's thinking is impaired. They cannot think clearly because they are fatigued from the depression alcohol places upon them, not to mention that they cannot even think clearly. An alcoholic might say, "Just one more drink. It won't do any harm." The next day, that same person will wake up sick. How can he or she justify their behavior? He or she might say, "I was drunk, so you can't blame me." Quite the opposite: His or her emotion, namely the desire to drink more, pushed him or her over the limit. And the next day, he or she can try to justify such an action laconically: "I was drunk." However, his or her emotions were significantly altered; in other words, their motivation, while clearly genuine, had very little logic behind it. Hence, they indeed were a poor decision-maker.

The last decision-maker indicates something of immense importance regarding the intersection between emotion and logic. Emotion is often fueled by logic, but sometimes, emotion is not actually justified by logic. With the person making a lifestyle change, he or she is making a decision based on emotion, but they had logic; the logic was simply not enough to overcome their anxiety. With the person making a foreign policy decision, he or she is making a decision based on emotion, but they had logic, too; the logic was simply not enough to overcome their cognitive bias. When emotion has no logical foundation--perhaps you were drunk or drugged, you were in a "fight or flight" mode after being raped--you likely make poor decisions. This is the difference between a person who makes decisions based on emotion and justifies with good logic in contrast to one that makes them based on emotion and justifies with bad logic: Their emotions, at the very least, make sense -- but they were unable to fully flesh out and complete their decision-making. This does not make them poor decision-makers; this makes them accurate, self-reflecting individuals who know their limits.