All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue presents a one-sided view of a useful method to improve operational efficiency. It states that if companies spend more time listening to their employees, hiring consultants to help them improve efficiency might be unnecessary. While this may hold true in certain situations, it cannot be considered as a panacea to all efficiency problems.

For example, an e-commerce site which delivers products all around the world may have issues in the efficiency of its logistics. While company employees may be able to share some ways to improve efficiency like training sessions for workers and better packaging material, their suggestions won't capture the evolving trends in the market and innovations by competitors. If the company continues to solely rely on its employees, it may face a major setback as competitors can gain a significant advantage by staying abreast of modern practices. For example, other companies might be modifying their local inventory based on an analysis of the purchasing trends of that region. Hiring consultants to help with such situations might not only be helpful but also absolutely imperative to stay in business in the long run.

On the other hand, in certain cases, listening to the company's own employees may result in desired results. In a software products and services firm, the development is heavily dependent on the engineers and their team work. There may be certain practices within certain teams which may result in better efficiency than others. Since these practices are internal to the company, listening to the observations and opinions of employees in such situations could help the company to think of company-wide measures to improve efficiency instead of hiring consultants unaware of the true situation inside the company. A team may improve productivity by restraining discussions over product features to the planning stage and reducing them during the main execution. They might hold periodic sessions to share each individual's specific skills with the others to improve the overall team's knowledge. Such initiatives would help improve efficiency a lot more in the company than hiring outside consultants.

As another possible scenario, hiring consultants temporarily to interact with employees and work out solutions might be beneficial as well. Combining the employees' knowledge of the inner workings of the company with the global knowledge of consultants may result in great results. In the case of the aforementioned software company, employees can share their practices for improved efficiency and consultants can provide information about how other companies are improving such practices to add value to the employees' suggestions.

In summary, either listening to any company's own employees or hiring consultants to improve efficiency or both can be beneficial depending on the reasons behind the current state of efficiency, nature of the company's work, and a variety of other factors. Companies need to determine which option or combination would be more germane to their issues and accordingly take steps to work towards better operational efficiency.