Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Overwhelming benefits of using technology in schools by students can easily overtake disadvantages of distractions by such devices. In order to minimize and even eliminate the distractions, the technology itself may be employed. The Internet is one of the many tools that has come to help with learning process in academical places.

First of all, it cannot be ignored how much positive impacts of technology compared to decades ago without technology improved the speed and quality of learning. The fact that looking up a topic among millions of books rather than spending hours in a library to browsing few books is not hidden. On the other hand, the value of results returned by a search engine could be much higher than a manual search. For example, a search engine may cover thousands of international libraries whereas a manual search will be conducted in a local library with limited resources.

Although technology, specifically internet, has opened up easy access to every kind of information whether related to a matter of interest or completely different, it can be channeled such that provides more focused and related data. For instance, filtering the websites in schools will greatly eliminate distractions by social networks which can be access through the same network that learning websites are provided.

One reason, the students may get distracted is the lack of concentration on the lesson. By reducing the time that a student who has to spend learning a subject, this distraction will be diminished. Modern learning tools and innovation have greatly sped up the learning curve. As a result, the students need to spend much less time to master a topic. Therefore, they will have more self-time left for entertainment and otherwise learning.

In essence, technology has opened many new windows toward acquiring information. This information is readily available in a huge amount. Nevertheless, extracting desired data related to learning material can be conducted as fast and sound by the technology. The question is not whether we either use technology in teaching or not but it is how to utilize it in the best way to reduce distractions and improve the quality of learning.