in any field of endeavor,it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within the field.

The authors argument here is that it is impossible to make significant contribution without being influenced by past achievements however , there can be various other factors alongwith getting influenced by past achievements which can inspire to contribute in certain field.

The main factor which drives to contribute is the intertest involved in a certain field which is not necessarily because of past achievements in that field. when people are intrested in certain fields they tend to achieve some unprecedented milestones. The pure example of these can be seen in the fields of sports and science and technology where people have went on to set a benchmark for others without any strong achievements to look from the past.

I also agree that when something outstanding is achieved it certainly influences a lot of people and it makes people to start working in that direction. Although I would say it is not necessary to have examples to contribute sometimes people do things out of curiosity or for there personal interests and even as there prime duty, these type of people are also major achievers if they work diligently. there is always someone who sets the benchmarks for others to follow and he probably has noone to get boost from in his work. For example the first guy who reached the peak of Himalaya or the first person to land on moon they had no one to follow yet they succeded in there targets, but surely after that a lot of people where motivated to do to what they achieved.

Finally I would like to conclude that achievements of past do push to enter the field and contribute but it is not impossible to succeed in the fields where no one has a major achievement. Otherwise there won’t have been any development in new fields where there has been no major contributer in the past.