In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most people aspire to become experts in the fields they find interesting or love. Every expert goes through a beginner phase, learning valuable experiences.

The given prompt states that beginners are more likely to make contributions to a field than the experts. While people may come to such a conclusion based on

the initial drive a beginner has, it's rarely the case. Fresh start with high spirits do take people starting out a long way but it a lot more is needed to

make a substantial contrubution than just that.

Firstly, experts have in-depth knowledge about a field and thus are more likely to make a novel contribution than beginners. Beginners usually lack pre-requisites

and the basic knowledge and are incompetent at their present level. An expert may posses information about a topic which the beginner may have never even heard of and

such a difference in their base information puts odds of a contribution against the beginners.For example, an experienced astrophysicist at NASA is much more likely to

make a significant contribution than a student intern who is just starting out.

Furthermore, experts have significantly more practical and hands-on time than a beginner. This is no surprise as experts generally have worked on personal and team

projects something which requires co-operation and planning. This is something that a person learns with time and is what makes an expert, the expert.

Beginners need several years before they gain these skills and as contributions to the field requires this, it's unlikely that they stand a chance against the experts.

Finally, experts are more likely to invest time, energy, effort and resources for a contribution in the field of their work. This is so as it's something they are good at

and have developed their skillset in. Beginners however are just starting out and such a committment to contribute seems unlikely. What beginners have in their favour is the

drive which comes from being inspired by their peers. These beginners will eventually reach the expert level and make a significant contirbution, something which furthers helps this position.