In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The issue that, in any field of inquiry, the beginner make telling contribution than the expert is a contentious one. I believe that expert make pivotal contributions than the novice. Because, the novice may has less experience and less practical knowledge than the seasoned one. And the veteran has more patience and abrupt decision making skills than the rookie.

Firstly, since the beginner has no or little experience in the particular field, he may has only the theoretical knowledge, not enough practical knowledge, when compared to the expert who is more experienced. So, in any field of inquiry, experience plays vital role in extracting important information than theoretical knowledge.

Secondly, instant decision making capabilities are required, to check the authenticity of the extracted information, in any inquiry. As, it requires confidence, which lacks in the novice, he cannot take decisions abruptly like the seasoned one, who has more confidence and judiciousness, which matters most.

Thirdly, to excerpt the important information , patience is also needed. One has to be a good listener to collect information. If one is very truculent, then he/she cannot make the people, who are getting investigated, to give the vital information. Since, the rookie may not have patience like veteran, he/she cannot make important contributions like the expert.

Some may argue that novice may has new skills and methods, which helps in extracting the vital information. But, the rookie also need the experience, not the novel skills only, to make telling contributions.

Hence, as the beginner may have less experience, less judicious, less abrupt decision making capabilities, and less patience than the expert, he/she is less likely than the expert to make important contributions in any field of inquiry.