In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All of us have heard the platitude “Every expert started as a beginner”. Beginners have a strong will to learn, explore, develop and advance their field of inquiry. The prompt states that it is more likely that an important contribution will be made a neophyte in the field, rather than one who is considered a scholar. I strongly agree with this assertion and argue that a novice’s contribution is more likely a novel one for two reasons.

First, rather ironically, experts are often constrained by their lofty perch in the field. They are bogged down the internal politics of the field. Experts also show excessive caution, lest their title be impugned by others. They often refuse to accept the work of others as valid as doing so might undermine their own work. Beginners are are not bound by these shackles. They focus and efforts are academic, with very little room for politics. The above are best exemplified by Sir Issac Newton. The renowned mathematician invented the ‘Binomial theorem’ at the young age of 22. At the time, even his prodigious talent did not grant him the status of an expert. He went on to discover Laws of Motion, and describe gravity. The various contributions he made elevated him in power and status. However, the latter part of his life belies the freedom of his younger days. The later works of Newton were often performed in secrecy, though they would have benefitted from more collaborative efforts. Further, Newton refused to accept Leibnitz’s calculus, because they undermined his own version of calculus. In fact, most of modern calculus is based on the work of Leibnitz, while a large portion of Newton’s work in the field lays forgotten. It is evident that Newton, as a beginner, has contributed more to field of mathematics and science, than as an expert. Experts engage in politics, while beginners do not. The academic focus of beginners makes it more likely that they make important contributions.

Further, beginners are more prone to having more radical, seemingly impossible, ideas. History has shown us many times that such fantastical ideas can completely transform a field of study, and become the paradigm for current research. For example, physicists struggled for years with the task of unifying 5 different ‘String’ theories. The problem continued to perplex even the most erudite scientists. The problem was solved by E.Witten, a fledgling in the field. He proposed the radical idea that all the various ‘String’ theories were just different versions, or rather images, of the same fundamental theory. The mathematical proof he produced based on the previously mentioned idea successfully solved the problem. All the seasoned scientists were influenced by the theory they championed. At some level, they were trying to make the other four theories fit into their ‘String’ theory, rather than reconciling all the theories to explain the ‘big picture’. This was ultimately precluded their effort from being successful. On the other hand, Witten’s knowledge was pristine. He was able to look beyond the five theories because he was not bogged down by the limits of any one theory. The above shows that experts often adhere to conventional methods, while beginners often provide fresh perspectives on different problem. These new ideas are profound and advance the field to a great extent. It is reasonable to say that the proponents of these new ideas and perspectives, the beginners, have contributed more to the field than their seniors.

Although one can argue that beginners simply lack the knowledge and sophistication to make any noteworthy contribution, history has shown us time and again that this is not true. Further it can be argued that this ‘lack of sophistication’ makes it more likely that they stumble upon something previously unknown in their pursuit of knowledge. This has also proven to be true numerous times. ‘The expert’ is held back by strings while the ‘the beginner’ is free to dive into the field and break new ground. Thus, it is more likely that a beginner will make more groundbreaking contributions than an expert in the field.