Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The question of the extent popular opinion should influence any leader is an intricate one. Some believe leaders who listen to the public and are easily influenced by them will accomplish more than those leaders who don’t. However, leaders that are quickly influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little because popular opinion is most often driven by emotions and does not take into consideration other factors that lead to the greater good.

First, opinions of the public are usually emotion-guided and constantly fluctuating. For example, at the time Jim Crow laws were abolished, the majority of the population in the US were Caucasian. There was a superiority complex around the color of white skin when compared to darker skin and the individuals that saw themselves as superior were against the equalization of all individuals regardless of the color of their skin. If the president of the US at that time was easily persuaded to oppose forbidding the Jim Crow laws, present-day America would not be as free as the one seen today. But because the leader was not influenced by the shift in popular opinion, we live in a land where all men are created equal.

Furthermore, to be an accomplished leader, one must push through emotions and take into account all aspects of an issue. A great leader must weigh the pros and cons for a certain situation to come to a decision that will be the best for the country and its people. If the one who leads is impulsive, the outcomes could be worse than expected. For instance, President Trump had fired the pandemic response team prior to the coronavirus outbreak, forfeiting any idea of a pandemic to arise at all. However, if he had taken the time to consider all circumstances this team could have prevented, it may be possible the response to the coronavirus pandemic have been a lot faster. But because the pros and cons were not weighed prior to this impulsive decision, the country suffered the death of many citizens.

Finally, some may argue that the voice of the public could aid the leaders to successful outcomes. Take into consideration President Trumps impulsive decision to lay off the pandemic response team once again. Had he taken the time to listen to the opinions of the general public, the country could have been able to prevent such a crisis in the time of the coronavirus pandemic. However, since humans tend to be motivated by emotion, it is not guaranteed that shifting to match the popular opinion will always be beneficial for the people. In more extreme cases, the popular opinion could lead to detrimental results.

Though reasons to believe influence by popular opinion could help a leader be increasingly successful are valid, these claims do not overpower the opposing side. To be an accomplished leader one must push through their emotions and weigh all factors into making a decision on an issue. Therefore, any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will be less accomplished than one who is not.