In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With power comes great responsibility and mankind has witnessed a lot of strife regarding the succession of it. Determining the tenure of those who wield authority is a contentious topic. I mostly agree with the claim that authoritative figures in all professions should have time constraints to hold such positions. I will discuss the same with 3 reasons.

Firstly, having a limited tenure of five years ensures that a single person cannot ascertain any dictatorial claim over the institution they govern. By limiting the duration of their power they are compelled to do their best in the allotted timeframe. Earlier governments are a good example of the pitfalls of having a single individual in power for too long. Many dictatorial European governments in the 19th century lead to a decline in the economy and overall standard of living. If authoritative figures are elected by boards or in a democratic fashion they are accountable to their subjects and will have to prove themselves to maintain their position. In contrast, having an extended tenure will not require them to be answerable to anyone.

In addition to this, having new people take on roles of power offers a fresh perspective to administrative tasks and issues. For instance, when a major software company was struggling due to declining productivity and employee morale, the board decided to replace the CEO. The new head was able to offer an alternative perspective and reevaluate the company's values eventually reinstating the company's former reputation. With the passage of time, it is prudent to keep up with changing demands. The best way to encourage this is by enabling different people to take the helm and come up with innovative ideas and solutions.

However, enforcing a tenure of five years may be too short to accomplish substantial progress. For example, public transport development initiatives such as constructing an intra-city subway may take longer than five years to be completed. If the governments change mid-project there is a possibility that the new government will scrap the project, leading to financial losses. In order to prevent this, it is advisable for the initiating party to see the project to completion. This leads to ambiguity while determining the duration one can be power.

In conclusion, the claim at hand is very complex and yes or no answers cannot be provided without analyzing each circumstance. In most cases enforcing strict tenures is favourable due to the progress that arises from different perspectives, but the effect that one can achieve in such short time spans may be low and should be taken into consideration.