In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Humans are not really known to be impeccable creatures. We often make errors and mistakes in what we do, but what makes us stand out is the ability to learn from our mistakes and improve each passing day. We hone our skills everyday and become better at what we do through experience. Similar is the case with our professions. We all start out as novice but we strive through each day and become a proficient.

The issue suggests that people in power should step down after 5 years. There is a subtle assumption here that a person would become inefficient after a period of 5 years and would be needed to be replaced. I disagree with the statement, as stated in the first paragraph, its in human nature to continuously evolve and improve. Replacing a candidate in any profession after a limited period service assuming he would be ineffective would have bad effects. For example lets take Apple one of the leading companies in the world. Would it have been the same case if if its founder Steve Job's would have stepped down from his position after serving for 5 years? Job's was an innovative thinker, he continuously adapted and improved his products through experience.

Because things take time we need to give more time for a professional than just 5 years.