In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting

points of view

Human beings have different background, including education, area of expertise, belief, or moral reasoning process. For example, some people may prefer utilitarianism; some people may prefer justice and fairness.

Let’s consider this hypothetical example: There is a train coming, and there are five people standing in front of the train, unaware of the potential catastrophy. The train will soon take their lives. However, you see a person standing on a bridge. If you push the person, you can definitely stop the train.

The example is from what is justice? Written by Michael Sandal, a professor in Harvard University. Some people who believe in utilitarianism will decide to push the person standing on a bridge. Others will not. They will have their reasonings behind their opinion. If they discuss, they can not only learn from the reasoning but also discuss about compromising there reasoning, potentially developing a new idea based on the contradicting reasonings. However, people have similar opinion may just be ‘happy.’

As introduced in the introduction, contrasting ideas may spur their discussion by comparing and contrasting their reasonings. However, people having similar ideas will just agree and stop there.

The Great Compromise would be a great example of showing the superiority of discussion between contrasting ideas. States having large population wanted to retain their power, whereas states having small population wanted to grasp power. They discussed their reasonings behind and reached the conclusion, and the conclusion became the basis of current US congress. As shown above, contrasting ideas can generate hybrid, but developed policy by encompassing the both view. Some may believe discussion between contracting idea may be not effective because they will hinder the process. However, fast process will be risky because it will cause hastiness and cursoriness. Some may question what if no decision is made? That is why most of the countries in the world adopted democracy.

A contrasting idea can also play a role as ‘watchdog’ for the opponent. In Korea, Myung Bak Lee, a former president of Republic of Korea, had an ambitious economic plan saving the suburban area. However, the plan has had encountered many criticism by environmentalists. After long and enthusiastic discussions, the plan encompassed the environmentalists’ concern. Furthermore, the environmentalists could monitor whether the plan keeps the environmental guideline. Consequently, through the discussion between the contrasting idea, Korea could grasp the two contrasting concept: Environment and economy

Furthermore, by having contrasting ideas, people can learn from a new perspective. As aforementioned, people have different idea since they have different area of expertise or culture. Imagine that a marketing department of your company came up with an idea. However, in fact, the marketing idea did not consider the financial burden of the company. If the marketing department proceed the idea without checking with other departments, such as finance department that have opposing idea, it may be detrimental, not beneficial, to the company. If they have had a meeting with different department which have different opinion, the plan could have helped the company.

People tend to be lethargic; without rivalry, there would be slower process. In fact, many psycology journals have examined the effect of rivalry. Discussion between two similar opinions will not spark enthusiastic discussion. However, through discussion between the two contrasting ideas, people can develop a plan