Art does not exist unless it is shared it requires both artist and audience

Today, humans have grown to such an extent where numerous types of art forms exist that we aren’t even aware of. Right from Sand arts to artists making portraits from Rubix cubes is quite mesmerizing, to say the least. Various art forms today involve an audience directly or indirectly. However, the claim that art does not exist unless it is shared is not entirely true.

Consider art forms such as dancing, theatre, music, etc. We usually associate these with an audience, a stage, or a concert hall. We can consider them as direct interaction with an audience. Nowadays, we also watch them from the comfort of our homes on our TV or the internet which can be considered as an indirect connection with the audience. However, these are, in both ways, audience-based. Rather, these are better shared and enjoyed together.

Artists today have made a living out of art. May it be singers, dancers, or even street performers. It is the people or the audience that fuels them and keeps them going. Consider a street instrument artist who has learned a multitude of instruments all by himself, without having support from his family. He cannot survive without performming in front of an audience. We have seen many examples of street artists being helpless with their pockets empty, especially in pandemic times. An audience is a crucial part of this art form.

However, artists that perform only for their personal satisfaction or personal enjoyment also exist. Not calling them artists or their work as art, will be entirely unfair to them. For example, a senior citizen, all alone without a family, performs painting or drawing only for personal satisfaction or for that matter passing of his time, does not specifically need an audience. If painting gives him mental peace, and satisfaction without a need of an audience, we have no right to not call it art. This can be considered as a solitary form of art. Consequently, even meditation today can be considered a form of art. Being it the meditation state for a certain amount of time requires practice and is not easily achievable. Monks have been doing this all their lives. After all, the audience is something that is definitely not needed here.

For these reasons, we can say that art can be considered as both, audience as well as non-audience based. Although an art form is better shared and enjoyed together, it can also very well be performed for ourselves without sharing it necessarily with an audience.