To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral

standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

For a public leader to be elected to public posts, the leader must possess several dexterities and sleights to be able to perform effectively in office. This wherewithals subsumes good leadership qualities, time management and high problem solving skill. However, it is not necessary for a politician to have high moral and ethical standards. These politicians are humans. They are also prone to errors. Hence, a public official should not necesarily maintain the highest ethical and moral standards to serve the people dutifully.

A case study of a leader with mild moral and ethical standards is Adolf Hitler. Hitler, who was generally referred to as one of the most ruthless rulers in the history of mankind, served the Germans well despite his scurrilous means. Hitler maundered on the Jews who he thought they caused the downfall of Germany in the first world war. Adolf also depredated on neighbouring countries to recoup Germany’s loses. Every bit of Hitler’s actions was auspicious to the Germans. Through this, he is revered as a good and effective leader in Germany despite his unethical standards.

Apart from Hitler’s immoral ethics, Franklin Roosevelt who served as America’s president for four consecutive tenures, also had bad sides despite being referred to as one of the country’s great leaders. Roosevelt led the United States to subjugate the Japan after the latter launched an assail on the United States. In addition to this, Franklin also instituted policies that revived America after the Great Depression. While serving his people diligently, Franklin was also known to harbor a mistress in Georgia, whom he had died at her residence. Despite this, rafts of America’s denizens still churn out to watch his train leave Georgia to Washington D.C. just to show their last respect.

Some reasonable individuals might cavil that great and high effective leaders such Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt were never known with any malfeasance. This might be true to some extent. However, just because this duo’s bad acts were largely concealed by the media does not mean they are sanctimonious. They are humans and they must have conducted some bad deeds covertly. Conducting an indepth investigation into Theodore and Abraham’s lifestyle will definitely lead one to descry their vicious acts.

In conclusion, for a leader to be effective, such leader must wield several good traits. Part of this traits include effective management skill, resounding logical reasoning and top notch analytical skills. While possessing high ethical and moral standards might refine the leader’s persona, this is not a weighty quality a leader must possess to be effective. Hence, for a leader to be efficacious in his onus, he is not necessarily required to uphold highest moral and ethical standards.