To be an effective leader a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address

High morals and ethics provide a strong foundational ground for any person that makes him successful in the future. Government officials are viewed in the light of scrutiny always, hence it becomes necessary for them to maintain higehest levels of ethical and moral standards. The prompt here asserts that high moral and ethical standards should be the go to virtues for public officials to be effective leaders. Undoubtedly, the prompt is completely jusitified in its assertion for the reasosns that are as deatiled below.

To begin with, as public officials are often supposed to work on public issues and resolve public grieviances, they are often in contact of the public. If the public finds out that a particular official takes part in immoral activities, they might begin to loose trust in the government and its offices. A single public official misbehaving or not keeping up moral or ethical conduct can tarnish the image of not only the department he works for but also of the government as a whole. For instance, Last year United States saw the largest of protests in the country when George Floyd was mudered by a single cop when he was being arrested. The cop did not adhere to moral and ethical standards that are amandatory for police officers rather he inhumanely asyphixated Mr Floyd. This not only caused the image of the Florida police department to be tarnished but the protests that later followed also tarnished the image of US as a democracy. This incident is a clear reminder that how a single instance where public officials do not work according to prescribed morals and ethics in their line of duty can lead to decline in trust of people int he government.

Secondly, when officials are found violating morals and ethics it is not common to see protests and hostility towards government. These portests in turn fuel political instability in the country which is followed by economic slump. For instance, during the BLM protest the conduct of president Trump and his government was called into question. What followed soon was a no-confidence motion against the government which president trump was able to save his presidency from barely. However, the markets responded neagatively ot this political storm in Washington and stock markets collapsed by 10 full percentage points. Clearly, not keeping up moral and ethical standards by public officials can lead to a chain of chaotic events that can ultimately lead to economic harm.

However, some people believe that moral and ethical conduct should not be considered for a publc official as his work is seperate from his conduct. However, this view discounts the fact that

personal conduct translates to workplace conduct. What it means is that how a persons values from his peronal sphere can easily seep into his workplace values compromising his effectiveness as a public official. Thus, we can conclude to preserve public confidence in the government machinery and avoid setting off a chain of cahotic events, it is very important for a public official to uphold highest levels of morals and ethics at all times.