Claim We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own Reason Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagr

The cliche relates like-mindedness to better learning and dissimilarity in thoughts to the opposite, clearly a disastrous idea. When we work with like-minded people, a lack of alternate viewpoints is concomitant, and redundancy in ideas is inevitable. Further, like-mindedness does not equate to better learning and may hinder learning as like-minded people are more likely to share the same knowledge base, preventing them from considering alternate viewpoints. It may appear that such an endeavor might be beneficial as it allows for the ready acceptance of ideas and saves time. However, this natural conclusion does not consider that like-minded people are unlikely to have a point of contention in thoughts, and people are more likely to reaffirm existing ideas not arrive at new ones.

It is a guarantee that such learning will suffer from a lack of alternate viewpoints, whereas unlike-minded people are more likely to exchange differing views providing a dynamic view of any concept in consideration. Accolite, a software development firm, attributes its success to heterogeneous teams with personnel from different backgrounds, which brings in differing viewpoints while solving a problem. Additionally, these distinct ideas also help team members learning by challenging and improving their existing methodologies and concepts. Thus, we can say that at any learning place of learning, be it school, college, or university: a heterogeneous crowd promotes more critical and enhanced learning.

Moreover, coming together of people sharing similar thoughts might lead to redundancy in ideas. It may also happen that because of such a situation, the learning of either party gets restricted as people sharing similar ideas are more likely to have a similar knowledge base and their mastery in respective domains. Consequently, leading to a situation where people are unlikely to have conflicting points, limiting possibilities for the development of new ideas. On the other hand, conflicting views give an opportunity to create new logic and devise new methods, which otherwise would have been absent. Thus, a group with people from different groups is more likely to arrive at distinct and nascent viewpoints.

Concomitant to the cliche is the perspective of similar-minded people enjoying better understanding, easy sharing of ideas, and time-saving. However, on digging deeper, we find that such an arrangement would only lead to an exchange of redundant ideas. A class of students in a school compromising of local students is less likely to ask more questions and less likely to critically analyze the concepts they are learning at school when compared to a class with students from different backgrounds, even though a class of like-minded students may find it easier to share ideas and have a better understanding of peers.

In conclusion, peer learning is a natural and significant part of our learning. A heterogeneous crowd is more likely to enjoy better peer learning compared to a homogeneous one. A group of people with different mindsets is more likely to bring more viewpoints to a discussion when compared to a group with the same mindset. Additionally, a like-minded group would be inclined and limited to an exchange of redundant ideas only. Though it may appear that a homogenous crowd will enjoy an effortless sharing of ideas, the learning may get restricted within certain domains.