To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

During the development of human society, the ethical and moral standards are formed as guidelines for each citizen in a modernized and democratic country, anyone who obey those would regarded as offensive and non-civilized. As for leaders, who are mostly discussed and exposed to the media, and producing massive influence to the country’s people, should stick to the ethical and moral standard strictly. In this case, I am agree with the assertion, however, without excessively scrutinized leaders every action.

First of all, leaders are important public figures who the citizens normally will look up to, their moral compliance will help promote a fashion among people to act the same. Obama, the last president of the US, for example, he is highly recognized as a figure who embrace peace, and reprimand wars as unethical actions that needs to stop, he won the Nobel Prize for the ambasseder of Peace, which influence great number of people and shaped people’s understanding about war and cherish the valuable peace time. On the contrary, Hitler, once a leader in German, he put into action in concurring with his unethical and immoral views to Jew people, his people at that time followed him indiscriminately, and started the massive killings of innocuous Jews. In conclusion, If being ethical and moral become the fundamental requirements when we are selecting leaders, we would promote whole nations’ sense of ethic, and people would act according to a high moral standard, tragedy would be avoided.

Moreover, highest ethic and moral standard is a cruel standard that require a person always be upright and sincere, and only a small part of population is able to receive is recognization. In this point, it would be perfect for a country to set this standard when select its leader. There are people who are skillfully disguise their venom intent when compete for a leader position, it would be wise to assign the important job to the person who truly cares about other, about the world, altrusic, and stick with those believes.

However, some would argue that media would use this standard to make a misleading judgement about a leader. Admittedly, by overly carefully assess a persons’ action according to a high standard, and stress a trivial mistake and overlook his/her great achievement is not reasonable. No one is perfect as we all know, and everyone need to study from others. This saying is also applicable to leaders, as they guiding the nation. People should give chance to leaders who are willing to admit his/her mistake and learn the standards of this society to correct themselves, if the mistake them made is not dramatic and understandable.

Overall, a leader should definitely accord his/her action to the highest ethical and moral standard, as for the people, we should evaluate their overall performance instead of focusing on negligible misbehave of their leader.