Being occasionally dishonest is a good way to maintain relationships with friends and loved ones. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion. Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

Honesty is a quality that every human being must possess in order to become successful in life as well as to understand the difference between a wrong and a right . One must choose honesty over anything- at the workplace, to maintain a lifelong relationship with friends and loved ones and especially with oneself. One lie is enough to cause a relationship to go sour. Even if sometimes a small lie can save a relationship, is it worth to build a relationship based on that lie? No, so I disagree that occasional dishonesty is a good way to maintain a healthy relationship. An honest and truthful relation can go a long way rather than occasional lies to build that relationship.

One example of occasional dishonesty can be seen at any workplace. An employee's wife is not happy because her husband's income is not sufficient enough to spend money on certain guilty pleasures of life. Although she doesn't complain to her husband, he can easily figure out based on certain situations. So he tries to steal some funds from his office accounts occasionally and lies to his wife that the money he got is because he worked really hard at the job. Now his wife is happy although she believes that he has actually worked really hard. After a few days the office fires him from the job and the wife also looks down at him and couldn't believe what her husband did. The husband thought to save the relationship it’s okay to lie sometimes but it caused him trouble at the workplace as well as at his home.

Another example that shows how dishonesty can get you in trouble. John is a great musician who is an average student who gets fair marks at his school tests. John's mom wants him to stop playing music and concentrate on his studies. So john starts hiding his report cards and tells Mom that he has been getting A+ grades in all his exams. After some days his mom gets a call from the school saying John has failed in the tests. Instead If John would have confessed to his mom that he is passionate about music and that he will complete his education to pursue his passion his mom would be more supportive and the relationship would have grown healthier.

Therefore to sustain any relationship you got to say the truth even if it hurts for the time being. Your loved ones deserve to know the truth from you rather than to know from somebody else. They might forgive you and understand your point of view. Even if occasional dishonesty can save your relationship it is not worth to grow a relationship based on lies. The guilt from lying will hurt you all your life and you might find new ways of being dishonest with your loved ones. Hence, honesty will get you a long way.