The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things

There is a notion that best thoughts are created due to obsession over daily stuff. Although I believe I mostly agree with this position, few exceptions still exist.

This idea is especially non-applicable for novel fields, where general population’s daily tasks exist. If we take the advancements in astronomical knowledge and pivotal points in its history as an example, we can clearly observe that best scientific ideas arise from tedious research work and scrupulous discussions of scientists who are not obsessed with finding answers to questions, instead doing their daily job.

However, if we take brilliant ideas which shaped current structure of our society, it is easy to detect that most essential ones are related to simply a person’s individual desire to achieve possibilities that can be observed in nature. For example, idea of a plane simply came from human’s obsession over motion of flying that he saw on daily basis while gazing birds in the sky. Thus, after many failed attempts, he did not give up, and continued due to his infinite desire to imitate a bird.

Another main argument supporting this notion is that brain is a complex organ which needs a motivation in order to give solutions to existing problems. This motivation simply can be granted by passionate interest in stuff surrounding us. There is even a saying that “obsession will take you further from discipline”, which I believe can be used regarding this position. Our brains need intrinsic desire to think and search about something as a fuel in order to come up with solutions.

In conclusion, although in certain cases, people without any passion about their jobs came up with solutions such as in scientific spheres, in most cases their desire to achieve new horizons and usage of this desire as fuel for their brains created current society which we live in.