The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

What makes a good leader? acting on his thoughts alone or hearing what the group has to say. I beleive that best leaders are those who encourage feedback as it can help the leaders to lead their followers in a better way towards the common cause.

A group of people is sure to face some difficulty in their pursuit of their goals. The followers will always look at the leader for solutions, and it is always not necessary that a leader will always be having answers to such difficulties. In such situations taking feedback from the people can help him in coming up with solution to the malady. This is because people have different perspectives of looking at the same issue. Someone in the group will be having a better perspective of the connundrum than the leader, hence when the leader asks the people for their advice on the issue, he is sure to get one of the best answers to the problem faced by them.

When some people come together to form a group, they will be having a common aim. The actions of the group then will be to achieve these objectives. The leader of the group is also a human being, he could loose focus, and his actions and decisions at times could be against the cause of group or not relevant to their aim. In such situations the people of the group could point to the leader that his actions or decisions are not in accordance with the interest of the group. Here feedback from people act as a check on the leader.

There are times when the outlook of the people could be parochial, and the leader may be acting on a long term goal for the people. In such situations the leader could act against the suggestion of the members. This does not make him a less leader. He goes against their wish because he knows what is better for the group in the long run.

When a leader takes suggestion for solutions to issues faced by the group, he gets a better solution from the members, which would be good for the group, also when a leader looses his path, the group could guide him back to the right path. Here the leader becomes a better one because he listens to the feedback the people has. Therefore best leaders encourage feedback from the people they lead.