The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for

The statement that the best test of an argument is its ability to compelling someone with an opposing viewpoint is true to some extent but there are certain other factors that come into play while determining the effectiveness of the argument altogether.

The primary goal of any argument is definitely to compel the supporters of opposing viewpoint but in doing so one must not forget the true essence of this activity. Arguments are considered as a source of information exchange and ways of instilling a sense of empathy between contending sides. Educational Institutes through their debating societies and clubs engage young minds into healthy argument to develop a sense of counter-arguments and also to develop a mutual respect towards each other's values. If the participant only focus on compelling listeners to their sides, then they would lose the very objective of this healthy activity.

There are lots of things that makes an argument great besides the ability of compulsion such as the intellect of its participants. There have been lots of arguments in history where none of the participants in succeeded in convincing one another. But they all got to enjoy the brilliance and wisdom of each other and learned to appreciate each other's viewpoint.

Some arguments are controversial enough as they target religion, culture and traditions of different sects of the society. In such cases, both sides stick to their respective sides but there is a swift flow of information regarding culture, religion and traditions of one another.

In my view arguments are basically tasked with goals of compelling components or gathering large supporters but the best test of argument is its ability to allow information exchange, spread harmony and a mutual respect and understanding of each other's boundaries.