The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in goverent, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation , not competition

The speaker states that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. While I agree with the speaker that a sense of cooperation is important to prepare young people for leadership, a sense of competition is equally important.

Competition between different organization is often responsible for groundbraking innovation. For instance, when president John F Kennedy rallied the whole country and congress to fund the project of moon exploration in response to soviet union space exploration programme, through which many things we commonly use today like welcro, were invented. Because there is competition amongst various companies in a free market economy, where companies compete for more buyers and we often get products at a cheaper price. Difficult competition often produces the best of leaders, who in turn lead various organisations forward and towards the direction of innovation.

If we prepare our young leaders by instilling in them only a sense of cooperation and not competition, the when the time comes to perform, they may falter because they wont be able to handle the intense competiton and the pressure that leading an organisation creates. Competiton creates the best of leaders by testing them in difficult times. Competition however must be combined with cooperation to proudce the best results.For example at a university students do compete against each other but they also cooperate amongst themselves as required for various group projects and assignments. Such a scenerio is ideal, where students learn to balance both factors.

To sum up, instilling a sense of competition amongst young people is as much important as instilling a sense of cooperation, because in an ever advancing world, both are necessary to win.