The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is a general saying that youths are the leaders of tomorrow. In order to build a sustainable society, the youths are trained and mentored so they are capable of occupying leadership positions. It is necessary to instill a sense of cooperation in the young people so they can contribute to attaining a unified goal in any field they find themselves in. I mostly agree with the statement above with three reasons.

Every organization employs the services of people from different backgrounds and expertise in line with their goals. In order to grow and meet their targets the cooperation of every employee is required as this would foster cordial relationships and understanding of tasks given to them. For instance, in an investigation team of 5 persons with the aim of apprehending a hardened criminal will require tactics and brainstorming among the team members collectively to achieve the result but in a situation where few of them are not cooperating with the plan put in place they would distract others and eventually not succeed in their mission.

In determining the candidate for a political party, a consensus has to be reached by party members so as to appoint a single candidate who would run with their competitors. Young people who also have interest in politics are groomed in the process to understand benefit of cooperation and shun competition amongst their party members as this would depict incompetence to the public and eventually loosing their supporters.

It could be argued that a sense of competition in young people will enable them to surpass one another but this will breed jealousy amongst them and eventually lead to their fall.

In conclusion, it's necessary to instill a sense of cooperation in the youths as this will translate to increased productivity at their place of work and every parastatal they find themselves thereby leading to the growth of the society.