The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To be a good leader, one must be a good follower. Some believe that the unity that comes from a common sense of cooperation leads to a greater collective achievement than the individuals combined. Others think that to make an outstanding leader, young people must imbibe a strong sense of competition to out-perform and lead their peers. However, from nature and studies, it is clear that young people who have better cooperation skills tend to be the ones others follow.

It is obviously undeniable that youths are btter prepare for leadership when they are instilled with a good sense of cooperation. In the business world, employees come together to achieve or contribute to a common goal. How then can any group of people achieve anything if they are constanly seeking to out-play their collegueas? Take a couple of attorneys assigned to a case with one of them sharing as little information as possible with her mate all so she can edge them out. They will definitely be unable to carry out their duties to represent their client who was unfortunate to be assigned to them. It would be a surprise to find other employees in her firm willing to follow her example.

More significantly, while promoting competition will result in survival of the fittest; however that is just it, they are only surviving. On the other hand, cooperation will cause a group to thrive instead. It is scientifically proven that animals in the wild who work well together have higher survival rates that those who do not.

In conclusion, it is evident that teaching young people to build a sense of cooperation and not competition leads to development of capable leaders in the society. While being competitive can set one apart from the crowd, it does not guarantee that others will be willing to follow. If anything, those who are unremarkable but blend well with everyone are the best kind of leader in any area, be it in government or industry.