The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instill in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

A good leader in any field is the one who hears people’s opinions and arguments. The prompt recommends that to make young people in our society good leaders, instilling a sense of cooperation will be more beneficial than a sense of competition. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons, but I do concede that in certain cases competition helps us in shaping minds of young generations in our society.

Firstly, cooperation among the youths is required because it helps them in identifying each other weaknesses and strong points. For example, if a team of students are assigned the task of decorating the school for its annual function. If students are cooperative to each other, they can identify who among them is good at drawing, who among them is good at taking initiative so that he or she can be assigned as the leader. Additionally, the team will thrive in decorating the school and also will be successful in recognizing their ability of doing a certain task in a group. Thus the above case shows us the importance of cooperation which turns very beneficial to young generations if instilled among them.

Secondly, cooperation helps an individual to understand problems in the society. For instance, consider a young boy "Rahul" who aspires to become a political leader and work for the betterment of society in future. If Rahul is cooperative to people and try’s to understand people's problems from a younger age, he will be able to understand society's problems in detail and can be able to work on it once he becomes a political leader. Thus likewise Rahul if other younger generation are also taught the importance of cooperation then it will surely help for betterment of our society.

Lastly, the positive aspects of competition should not be ignored as they prove to be catalyst while achieving a goal. To illustrate, if Captain of a Cricket team is competitive in nature then it will help to bolster the teams progress as other team players will be motivated by watching their leader's spirit of winning and they themselves will try to push themselves to be better in playing their assigned role in the team. Thus completion is sometimes fruitful to motivate and push others around us which is a indicator of a strong leader.

In conclusion, the prompt recommendation is true most of the times but it ignores the positives of competition. Thus cooperation is important to prepare younger generation in leadership but at times they should also compete among each for excellence and self-improvement.