The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compellingreasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The best way to prepare the young children of a society is by instilling in them the value of cooperation rather than competition. Although competition exists in the world, and competition sometimes brings out the newest and most innovative ideas, cooperation is a more essential skill to learn in order to be sucessful in leadership positions. Teaching cooperation is required because creating anything of value often requires more than one person, cooperation is required for leadership roles and because the spirit of cooperation creates a sense of belonging people need to succeed.

Cooperation is an essential skill to instill, because creating anything of value requires cooperation between people. Although in a free market, the competition between various companies creates new products, such as a new brand of cell phones, creating the cell phone requires cooperation and collaboration between hundreds of people and entities. In order to survive in such a world, people need to be skilled at cooperating with others in order to achieve goals. Although competition maybe a motivator to create new products, the actual creation of new products occurs through cooperation.

Cooperation is also an essential skill to learn because leadership requires cooperation. People in leadership roles are expected to work with their colleagues, and to be ready to take the initiative to help the team move forward. If the spirit of competition is emphasized over cooperation, the team members or leaders may focus their energy on competing with each other, and possibly trying to bring each other down, rather than working together to make the whole team succeed.

Instilling a sense of cooperation is also essential for the mental health and morale of people in society. People need a sense of belonging, and teaching young people to cooperate, will also teach them to create a sense of belonging with every person they cooperate with. One of the reasons that companies have team building activities, is that team building activities improve morale and cooperation. One of the essential part of team building activities is having an activity that requires cooperation to complete. After completing team building activities the morale of team members usually increases. Having strong morale is essential for leadership, as an important part of leadership is the ability to influence, and it is easier to influence when someone has high morale. Therefore the spirit of cooperation improves morale and therefore leadership ability.

Overall the spirit of cooperation is a more important idea to instill in young people rather than competition, because cooperation is needed to create anything of value, leadership requires cooperation and that the spirit of cooperation increases morale. Although competition is sometimes useful, the spirit of cooperation is more essential for young people to learn in order to succeed in the modern world.