The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The tussle between cooperation and competition has prevailed since time immemorial. The prompt here suggests that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership roles is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, and not competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the author's suggestion and would argue that any good future leader would prioritize cordial behaviour over unnecessary competition, for the following two reasons.

First of all, the very role of a leader in any domain is to work for the welfare of the people. When one is chosen as a representative or as a master of a particular trade, it is an automatic assumption that others would look up to them. In such a scenario, it is imperative that the leader is scrupulous and reliable. For instance, Jacinda Arden, the current PM of New Zealand, is renowned for the way she leads her cabinet. Despite the leader of a diverse nation, she has managed to make sure that her workers are actual representatives of the people, including those of particularly marginzalised communities. Had she been pitting her staff against one another, it is highly unlikely that she would become a model of good governance. This example illustrates how good leaders are those who believe in cooperation, rather than competing with others. If youngsters with impressionable minds are taught that anyone with an opposing idea is a foe who needs to be beaten, they would grow up with needless animosity and hatred, which would prevent them from being worthwhile leaders.

Secondly, cooperation is a skill that every leaders needs to incorporate at some point. If youngesters are never introduced to this idea of amity, they would not be equipped to handle the challenges of their career. For example, even the great emperor Akbar had to concede to the demands of his people sometimes, and it was his willingness to adjust for his countrymen that made him such a beloved and able leader. In a sharp contrast to this, his grandson, Aurangzeb, was a ruthless dictator who decapitated anyone who chose to disagree with him. By creating an atmosphere of fear and competition, Aurangzeb was initially successful in rising to the top, but all the enemies he had made along the way joined forces to bring upon his downfall. The fact that a single man's hatred for cooperation brought down one of the greatest empires in history is enough proof that being amicable and inclusive is an intergral life skill, especially for someone who wishes to be at the top.

Of course, some may suggest that competition is inescapable, and every person should be prepared to deal with it. However, the fast paced world of today has made being a part of the rat race almost imperative for survival, and a sense of competition is something one can easily pick up from their surroundings. But what needs to be taught is patience, and the importance of listening to all viewpoints, and taking them into account before taking a decision. If a society wishes to progress, it needs to train the nimble minds of children to be leaders who are willing to work together, rather than a pack of wolves who fight till just one remains.