The argument concentrates on improving one of the most important soft skill: leadership. It states that instilling a sense of cooperation will prepare leaders in a much better way than competition. However, the argument has it's own pros and cons.

Inculcating cooperation among young minds is quite essential who have impressionable mind and pick up on things at much faster rate at younger age. Knowing how to cooperate with each other is what makes a successful leader. Consider team sports, where every player has a crucial role which contributes towards winning of the team. If any of the player does not perform, then everyone's performance is impacted. In my school, our basketball team was one of the best in whole region because of the understanding and coordination shared by us. Each and every member of team always bolstered other. Even if one person from our team had been indifferent, it would have led to everyone's downfall.

What defines a great leader is the way in which he or she makes whole team to cooperate with each other. Leader plays a very important role in maintaining harmony in between all the members. Leaders in government, industry and other fields usually have to meet a lot of people, and knowing how to cooperate with them is important to be successful. For example, a successful leader in government should be able to organize people in different departments. He has to cooperate efficiently with the people he leads. In business, cooperation with employees must be ensured to have a successful corporation. This requires a strong sense of cooperation, so a society should prepare young people by instilling this quality in them.

On the other hand, we should also consider that competition is what makes people perform and outshine. Competition definitely brings out leadership qualities among them. Some have it naturally and some of them develop through different situations. I remember in my childhood, my father always encouraged a healthy competition by motivating me to perform better whether in sports, academics or any other co-curricular activity. This developed leadership qualities in a much better way. Through this only I realized there were leadership qualities instilled in me and I worked towards polishing them further.

We should recognize that both are important in our society. For example, although there exists fierce competition between different companies, they often have to cooperate with each other. A company may compete with another company in a kind of product, but they may have other areas in which they work together. A company providing searching service may be working together with a company providing safety software, such as sharing some algorithms or some data. However, they may have minor competition on advertising on another service. This illustrates that cooperation is also important in this society and we should instill in our youth a sense of both.

Therefore, a conclusion can be drawn that building a sense of cooperation is important for creating better leaders but a healthy competition should not be avoided. In fact, it should be encouraged. Only one cannot be chosen as both play a crucial role in development of great leaders.