The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Many would assert that restrictions on consumers can solve environmental problems. In some senses, it is undeniable that impolitic consumption of customers sometimes worsen environmental issues such as the waste problem. Only by focusing on the merits of regulations on consumers does the speaker overlook the limitation of the policies from the perspectives of promoting illegal practices and the effectiveness of regulations on companies.

Admittedly, few would disagree that household restrictions can improve environmental problems. When it comes to enhancing consumers’ awareness of environmental problems, it seems less corporation regulations than those of general people in daily life that helps the environmental problems. Recycling policies, which encourage people not only to decrease their daily waste, but also to use recycling products, make the public understand the severity of the waste problem, thereby contributed to decreasing total waste amounts

resolve issues of the environment. The point here is that environmental policies on the public are basically beneficial for the environmental condition.

Nevertheless, customer regulations can be dissected by the lens of promoting illegal practices. Rather than solving intended problems on the environment, trash policies imposing an extra tax on garbage amounts made people throw away their trash illegally in order to avoid the tax. This brought about the increase of waste amounts, and unwittingly worsened the trash problem. This implies that too much emphasis on the customer regulation needs to be reconsidered.

Moreover, restriction on customers is not the only way to solve the problems. Considering the impact on the environment, companies which create a myriad of waste including baneful pollutants make more problems for the environment. In fact, most of the striking environmental issues are mainly caused by companies, like wastewater issues in Korea hurting countless victims. This indicates that regulation on companies regarding environmental issues should be considered to solve the problems.

To sum up, despite the beneficial outcomes of customer restrictions, promoting people’s illegal actions and companies’ gigantic impacts on the environment illuminate for us that regulation to the public does not always lead to an enhanced environment. Only if we were to ignore the downsides and limitations of regulating citizens, could we conclude that policy concentrating on the public invariably solves environmental issues.