The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Feedback is the important part in any learning process. It plays a vital role in learning by facilitating learning from the mistakes and maintaining the correctness. Feedback can be from others or from oneself, either way feedback is an imperative aspect of teaching. While it is beneficial to praise positive actions, it is rather going too far in stating that teaching which precludes action on negative deeds is the best one. Instead, negative actions need to be addressed with extra care so that they get corrected and won’t be repeated, since most people are not incorrigible after all.

Following along the same lines, as teaching starts with young school kids, in this case, often times, they do nugatory mistakes in ignorance, however if such ‘negative’ actions are ignored instead of getting corrected, there will be lesser chances for them in knowing how to differentiate between what is right and what is not and consequently rendering such method ineffective. Additionally, praising positive actions will definitely have a profound positive impact on them so as they tend to maintain it to get the praise. On the other hand, admonishing people who commit mischievous things is necessary too in order to induce some sense of fear in them against repeating it. Nevertheless, care should be taken in such admonishing since excess of this may make the student rather rebel and incorrigible eventually which is not desired at all.

Furthermore, this whole paradigm of praise for positive and moderate reproach for negative can be loosely translated to the concept of marks in an examination which inherently makes the mistakes expensive by awarding no marks and praises the positives by giving non-zero marks for right answers. As it is evident that, examinations have inculcated this habit of being wary of doing mistakes, we can draw parallel with stating that it is rather better to weigh negative actions too rather than ignoring them.

Having said this, both too much praise for a positive action and too much censure for a negative action can be detrimental to the overall goal of teaching and learning. Since too much praise can render complacency and too much censure, incorrigibility and indifference. So, the levels of either should be maintained at innocuous levels in order to get good, desired results of teaching.

In conclusion, teaching should include both praise for positive and rebuke for negative actions, rather than obviating negative in order to make the students complete and perfect.