“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

There are a variety of approaches for dealing with both positive and negative actions. The best way to teach involves responding to both positive actions and negative actions as it encourages positive behavior and demonstrates consequences for negative behavior. From both a practical and moral standpoint, response to positive and negative actions can promote an ethical and flourishing life.

Encouraging feedback is immensely important to validating a person’s positive actions. People need to have acknowledged the things that they do well: it builds self-esteem, reinforces the positive behavior, and encourages continuous striving for success in that positive direction. Particularly in an educational setting, positive feedback can promote these attributes. Studies show that children who are praised for being hard-working instead of smart tend to continue on an upward trajectory in terms of educational success and resilience—these skills continue and affect their lives as they grow older and are faced with different sets of issues.

From a virtue ethics standpoint, characteristics of benevolence, kindness, awareness of the impact of one’s actions, so on and so forth, gives way to moral actions. These virtues are important in living a good life-- for eudaimonia, and in praising positive actions, these virtues are promoted.

An encouraging response to positive behavior is just as important as a response to poor behavior. A person who has negative behavior should be responded to in order to correct that behavior. Someone must know what they’re doing wrong and given direction to correct their actions in the present and in the future. Frequently problematic actions, such as negative behavior, are derived from personal issues, such as poor self-esteem, a tumultuous personal life, or ingrained negative behaviors that have not been corrected in the past.

In consequentialism, a simplified view says that in making choices, one must assess the positive and negative consequences to their actions, and choose the decision that promotes the good. In order for goodness to be promoted, one must know when they are acting positively and negatively—the results of one’s actions matter and a person must know the difference.

There are exceptions to responding to negative behavior. There are times in which negative behavior should be ignored instead of responded to. For example, children who are throwing tantrums, if given no response, often will end the attention seeking behavior. This response is also effective during adulthood, but not in all situations, and should be considered in a case by case basis. Derogatory comments should consistently be responded to, but refusing to engage, argue, or justify one’s actions can be advantageous in a personal setting.

Responses to both positive actions and negative actions must be carefully considered, but an emphasis on a response to positive and negative behavior is integral to growth as a human being. Nurturing positive actions is likely to result in the repetition of that positive behavior; negative actions can also be reinforced in they are not corrected. There are many consequences to poor behavior, particularly as one grows older and the consequences can become more severe. Correcting poor behaviors, particularly throughout childhood and early adulthood reinforces positive behavior that will be beneficial throughout a lifetime.