The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is the main method of communicating and sharing knowledge between one individual and anther. As society requires and demands more and more from individuals, teaching and the method of teaching becomes more important. The method of teaching can have direct consequences on how someone will perform in later stages within his or her life. A well known proposed method of teaching is to praise positive actions and ignore negative actions. This method does have some validity, however is in my opinion not the best way. Methods in which we praise good actions and punish negative actions can be more effective as those utilise both the stimulating effects of rewards and the warning effects of punishments.

Only praising the positive actions, requires that the teacher is consequent throughout the whole teaching period, in addition teachers must have distinct borders between what is acceptable and what is not. In the scenario of a kid being raised by his parents, the teaching period can be as long as 18 years. During the teaching time it is highly important that both parents utilise similar distinctions between positive and negative actions, however, they rarely succeed. This could be caused by multiple factors including, their individual experiences when they were raised, their personal distinction between positive and negative, a person’s mood and how much moods can influence their judgements. A similar scenario can be observed at school, here different teachers have different distinctions between positive and negative.

When one would use only the positive feedback, how can a person assess the scale of his wrongdoings? It is in this situation that the negative feedback should be used. Based on the negative feedback the person performing the act will learn the consequences and try to avoid them. Hence, when a person knows that not performing his duties will prevent him from participating in a match of his favourite sports, he will think twice. In addition, when performing the duties he will receive a positive reaction motivating the student even more.

However, one might know that people lacking attention can thrive on negative attention. Therefore one could state that the best way to teach is to solely praise positive actions, however, in my experience this would only be the case for less than one percent. Because of this low percentage it should not be seen as an adequate method which is the best for everyone but rather for a select group.

In conclusion, the best way to teach varies from person to person. For most people the method utilising both negative and positive feedback will be the most effective and easiest to implement. For a select group, only positive feedback will provide the best results.