The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

In today’s world as one’s reach to more people extends so do one’s learnings. People today are interacting and learning from way more people on a global level than they did ever before. The time when one used to be restricted to learn from his/her immediate circle is gone. People are expanding their domains to learn from people all around the world, whether it is through online courses, webinars or virtual conferences. However, as one’s domains expand and as one learns from more people, the more convoluted or complex the learnings might become.

As all humankind is vastly different, so are the thoughts and believes of all. What might be a positive action for one person might be a negative for another. It is extremely necessary for all to be on the same page regarding what is negative or positive before saying if the best way to teach is through promoting positive actions only. Otherwise, this discrepancy might end up confusing the student more rather than him learning. At a given point, he might not be able to differentiate between if a particular thing is positive or negative. For example, he might have learnt from a professor that taking certain risks in life is a prominent part and every humankind should expose themselves to risks at some points in life. However, another instructor might have taught him to be extremely cautious in life and practice due diligence before making any big decisions. For both professors what they are preaching to the student is a positive action, but no one can really repudiate either one of them and give the correct classification about which is the right action and which is the wrong one.

Furthermore, it is extremely necessary for one to be made aware of the negative possibilities in life as well. During an entire lifecycle, a human goes through various ups and downs in life. If one has only learnt about the positive actions and has no awareness about the negative ones, sailing through life might not be an easy task. It is extremely important for one to know about the positive things as well as the negative aspects of life to be truly aware at all times.

To conclude, an instructor or mentor should always motivate their student or mentee to practice positive actions in life and be kind to oneself and others. However, they should also make them aware of the negative actions which can come up towards them or which they might practice unknowingly. It is foremost important to teach about positive as well as negative actions so that one can take the appropriate decision at any point of time in his life. If an individual is taught only about positive actions and negative actions are ignored, it might lead to one having a very parochial and restricted approach towards life.