The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

discipline is a trait that we as a society expect in people; however, this characteristic must be taught correctly in order to differentiate man from savage. Throughout history, many different disciplinary techniques were employed while schooling young children. In the past, physical punishment and abuse were employed to deter bad behavior while praise and goodies were used to encourage placidity. Currently, society views communication and stern warnings as the primary mode to teach juveniles manners, but although, the modes of education have changed one trait has remained constant. In teaching someone good actions are met with confirmation and negative actions are rejected.

Trying to understand why this core mantra in discipline is surprisingly effective, we can start with a simple axiom: people like to feel good and supported. encouraging good behavior offers confirmation for an action and couples the action with a positive outcome. this form of training is often used to train animals such as dogs because it is simple and effective. The dog then understands that a certain behavior is prefered than another and chooses to perform the favored action with higher frequency to earn more support. An issue with this replication of encouragement is that then the person is conditioned to expect praise each time the action is not performed. If the teacher omits the reward for the boon then the training is ruined as the student will feel betrayed that a condition is not met.

Furthermore, in this training regime, the importance of ignoring negative actions cannot be ignored. ignoring the negative action is not the exact same as punishing the bad deed, but it accomplishes the same effect without the emotional distress. Most children tend to lash out due to complicated personal issues tending to relate to attention, so reserving the thing that they desire is one way to reprimand problematic behaviors. ignorance also allows the educator to reserve energy and allow the student to expend energy. this will eventually tire out the problematic kid and reduce him or her to a submissive state and one in which they are ready to listen.

Finally, the benefit of commending good behaviors proves to be especially useful in group settings. With a bunch of people each performing unique actions, it becomes very difficult to take attention and guide the group. With this strategy to ignore the bad apples, one can offer guidance to many people using the actions of a quick-witted few. this teaching technique is fantastic as it allows to lead by example without having to construct a use case and acts as an organic solution to a rather chaotic problem. this technique is used by sheep-herding dogs whereby they focus on the outstanding sheep in order to direct the herd.

Thus, this form of education is known to be an effective one, as it contains many inherent benefits. it allows to quickly and efficiently help the student understand good behavior and deter bad actions. As our understanding of how people learn improves I would expect education to take on a new format, but, historically this core principle has remained, so I expect it to prevail.