“The best way to teach is to praise positive

actions and ignore negative ones.”

The act of teaching — whether it is to teach a child basic mathematics or to show a new employee the ins and outs of the job — is a difficult process, and how successful someone is at teaching another person is highly dependent on how well the teacher and the student understand each other, and how well they work with each other. As such, to claim that the “best” way to teach is either to praise positive actions or punish negative ones may simplify the complexities of teaching, where different situations and personalities might require different styles of teaching. What teaching requires is not an adherence to either reinforcing positive behavior or criticizing negative actions, but rather a balance between the two.

To begin with, to only criticize someone for what they are doing wrong can demoralize the person, which can have deleterious effects on their learning. For example, when teaching someone piano, telling them that they are playing their piece wrong or that their scales are incorrect could cause the student to feel as if they will never be able to play piano correctly. In these cases, it is more fruitful to also praise the child when they do play scales correctly or when they improve, so that they may recognize that even though they are still far from perfect, they are making progress, encouraging them to keep trying despite the difficulties they are facing.

However, simply ignoring negative actions, particularly when those actions inflict harm on another person, would be to condone that behavior. If a child in a math class claims that five times five is thirty, then it is necessary to point out that they are wrong, that five times five is twenty-five, in order for the child to learn their multiplication properly. Moreover, ignoring that behavior would make it difficult for the person to learn from their mistakes or to understand precisely what they did wrong. When teaching someone to be a better writer, it is helpful, even necessary, to point out what the writer should fix or edit. Of course, positive feedback is incredibly helpful in knowing what a writer is doing right. But if the argument a writer is making is weak or not clear, then the teacher should tell their student so that their student can fix their mistakes and create stronger, clearer arguments.

Some people respond well to harsh criticism and high pressure, blossoming when they are pushed to the edges of the ability. Some people become demoralized at the face of constant criticism and cannot bring themselves to continue learning a subject that they feel they may never be able to master. Instead, they respond well to positive feedback, by knowing what they did right as well as knowing where to improve. These different personalities respond well to different styles of teaching, styles which both praise positive actions and punish negative ones to different extents. There is no singular way to teach: instead, it is important to know what kind of person the learner is, and how they may best learn.