“The best way to teach is to praise positive

actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the

extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning

for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be

advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

In trying to teach people, the provider of knowledge is trying to grant them wisdom and empower them with knowledge whether it be a new technique or concept. There are many different teaching scenarios but overall the sentiment stated above holds true, except for unique cases.

Firstly, to simplify the scenarios into a palpable number of cases I will focus on how the learner’s attitude toward learning and their personality can differ. We have people who are eager to learn and those who would avoid it. We have outgoing people who would perhaps not be averse to being called out for their negative actions but of course there are more reserved, shy learners who would be greatly discouraged by being reprehended for their actions. In teaching, both an aversion to learning and shyness tend to be qualities that are obstacles for the teacher. On the other hand, outgoingness and eagerness to learn tend to be positive qualities that would tend to facilitate the teaching process to some extent.

With those qualities laid out, I will address first the negative qualities of learners. Those who tend to be averse to learning will not want to put much effort in their learning and they may just outright refuse. Reprieving a person in this state will not motivate them to learn, and even if it did it would only be for the purpose of proving the aggressor wrong – this is not the best type of motivation for learning. Thus it would be better to praise them and slowly shift their attitude to be more positive and eager for learning. Now, if the learner tends to be shy and reserved it would follow that pointing out their mistakes would further drive them away from interactions. A friendly, and positive environment where they are praised for their efforts would be a more suited environment for their success.

As for negative qualities, we have learners who are more outgoing and those who would want to learn. These groups of people are already positively biased toward learning so ideally it would be easier to teach them, ideally. If they are already a foot in the door for learning, then praising their successes will further motivate them and allow them to confidently continue their learning. Unlike the previous group, the reason for praising them isn’t to increase their confidence nor change their attitude, it is to continue whatever positive qualities they already have and help them thrive even more.

To consider the unique cases, there may be situations where ignoring negative actions is not the best approach. There may be situations where negative actions, such as obvious makes could result in grave repercussions for either the action-performer or somebody around them. If the negative actions were ignored or disregarded the teacher would fail to instill the severity of danger that certain mistakes could cause. In this case one could say label the teacher as negligent for ignoring the negative actions.

In conclusion, for more general scenarios including different types of learners it would be best to focus on praising positive actions and ignore negative actions. This would lead to building their confidence or maintain it at a good level while providing a relatively stress-free environment where they can learn and not be afraid of making mistakes. Of course there are scenarios where negative actions should, dare I say must, be addressed to be a competent teacher.